It’s a media frenzy at this year’s Festival, so meet the media team who will be with you throughout the 11 days!

This year at the Manchester Children’s Book Festival there’s so much going on, you’ll probably miss something.

Then you’ll feel sad. And that makes us sad.

But don’t worry! You can check out the blog, twitter and Facebook to keep up to date with all the action, even if you can’t make it to some events.

To help with this we have our marvellous media team who will be keeping you informed about everything that is taking place over the Festival. You’ve probably read some of their articles in the build up to 2014, but we thought we’d just introduce you all to the team.

Without further ado, meet Sarah, Neil, Rachel and Frazer:


Hello! I’m Sarah, in my second year of the BSc (Hons) Psychology & Speech Pathology course here at Manchester Metropolitan University. I also chair a University society and occasionally contribute to the MMU Futures blog.


In my spare time, I enjoy vegetarian cooking, live music and watching non-league football matches. A list of my favourite things would include dogs, halloumi and robots.

My most treasured childhood book was Matilda. I’m a huge Roald Dahl fan, so just imagine my excitement when I heard about the Willy Wonka Workshop on Sunday 6thJuly! Think I’ll pass on the brussel sprout ice-cream, mind…

I’m also looking forward to picking up some inspirational tips from Andrew Cope at The Art of Being Brilliant on Wednesday 2nd July (now sold out!) and I’m a little bit too excited about the Kidsunlimited Graduation on Friday 4thJuly, which I’m reliably informed is a whole world of cute.

I’ll be tweeting as SA during the Festival, so keep an eye out for my adventures. Looking forward to seeing you all there!
 ****
Hi everyone! My name is Neil Harrison and I’ll be working with the sea monkeys to bring you news from this year’s Manchester Children’s Book Festival. I look forward to seeing you all there!

A little about me: I’ve just finished my 2nd year studying History. Some of my favourite things include books, guitars and rubbish jokes. My favourite book as a child was JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit (it’s still better than the films). When I was a little boy I wanted to be either an inventor, an ice cream man or an amazing, super ice cream man who went around inventing things. Now I am very old and boring but I have three children of my own who I love reading with and telling rubbish jokes to. Maybe one day I’ll get that ice cream van.
I’ll be tweeting using the initials NH, so keep an eye out.
See you soon!
 ****
Hello, I’m Rachel. I’m an English and Creative Writing student and my childhood dream was – and still is – to become a published author. As you can imagine, I’m a huge bookworm! As a child, a few of my favourite books were The Twits by Roald Dahl, The Butterfly Lion by Michael Morpurgo and the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
I’m really looking forward to the Festival’s Family Fun Day and most of the author events I’ll be visiting (perhaps I’ll get a chance to pick their brains… mmm, brains). Outside of books and writing, I also love my cats, playing video games, anime and creating funky nail art.
On the Festival’s Twitter account, I’ll be tweeting as RJ, so keep a lookout for me! 
 ****
Hi, I’m Frazer and I’m currently in my first year of an English/Creative Writing degree and clinging to the hope that one day my work will be good enough for the general public to be interested in. As a child I often read Enid Blyton and Horrid Henry books, then went to develop an interest in theatre during my teenage years. 
On the weekends you’ll be able to find me holed up in various coffee shops drinking my body weight in lattes, blogging, reading, writing creatively and being hopelessly clumsy. 
I’ll be tweeting through the MCBF Twitter account as FM, and I can also be found through my personal twitter at TheeOverpass, or through blogger at the-overpass.
 You can follow the team @mcbf2014 or through #mcbf2014, by visiting Facebook and searching Manchester Children’s Book Festival, or by coming back to the blog!
Leave a Reply

