Introducing The MCBF 2015 Media Team!

This year at the Manchester Children’s Book Festival there’s so much going on, you’ll probably miss something. But fear not! You can check out the Blog, Twitter and Facebook to keep up to date with all the action, even if you can’t make it to all of the events.

To help with this we have our marvellous media team who will be keeping you informed about everything that is taking place throughout the festival. You will have read some of their articles in the build up to 2015, but we’d like to introduce you all to the team.

Without further ado, meet: Rachel, Neil, Grace, Becky and Jacqueline:

Hi, I’m Rachel and I’ve just finished my second year studying English and Creative Writing. I hope to become a published author someday and I’m currently working on a fantasy novel for young adults.

I’m usually up to my ears in fiction: reading, writing, playing video games, and watching films and TV dramas. When I’m not buried in fictional worlds or assignments, I like to spend time outdoors or travel if I can.

After a great experience at the festival last year, I’m looking forward to getting involved again and can’t wait to attend the events.

On the Festival’s Twitter account, I’ll be tweeting as RJ, so keep a lookout for me!
****

Hi everyone! My name is Neil Harrison and I’ll be working with Compton Valance to bring you news from this year’s Manchester Children’s Book Festival. I look forward to seeing you all there!

A little about me: I’ve just finished my 2nd year studying History. Some of my favourite things include books, guitars and rubbish jokes. My favourite book as a child was JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit (it’s still better than the films).

When I was a little boy I wanted to be either an inventor, an ice cream man or an amazing, super ice cream man who went around inventing things. Now I am very old and boring but I have three children of my own who I love reading with and telling rubbish jokes to. Maybe one day I’ll get that ice cream van.

I’ll be tweeting using the initials NH, so keep an eye out. See you soon!

****

Hi, my name is Grace. I am a second year English and Creative Writing student and an editor for Humanity Hallows.

I love films and writing my own scripts; a passion I hope to pursue as a career. In my spare time I enjoy cooking for my family, walks in the countryside, and engaging in my biggest vice of playing video games.

My favourite books growing up included A Series of Unfortunate Events, Fantastic Mr Fox, and Harry Potter. I have fun reading fantasy stories by being able to explore and imagine new worlds that authors create. I’m greatly looking forward to the festival as I have yet to outgrow my love of children’s literature in both reading and writing it.

I’ll be tweeting using the initials GS!
****

Hello, I’m Becky and I am a third year BA (Hons) Criminology and Sociology student at Manchester Metropolitan University. I am also a student rep and a member of two university societies.

As a child, my favourite books were The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton and The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. My childhood dream was to become a princess (shockingly there aren’t many job advertisements for this!), though now that I am (mostly) grown up I would love to work on my second dream which is anything to do with books, but specifically publishing or writing.

In my spare time I can be found somewhere quiet with a good book, preferably a coffee shop somewhere with a latte and my iPod.
I am really looking forward to the Festival’s Family Fun Day and to meeting each of the different authors who will be in attendance throughout the festival.

I’ll be posting with the initials BH!
****

Hi, I’m Jacqui and I’m a Creative Writing student at Manchester Metropolitan University. I also write regularly for the university’s online magazine, Humanity Hallows.

I live in Warrington with my three grown-up sons and my two West Highland terriers, George and Molly and, when I’m not studying, I love listening to music and going to concerts. I have always been a big reader and, when I was young, my favourite books were Dodie Smith’s One Hundred and One Dalmatians, which I read in one day, and Roald Dahl’s Danny Champion of the World. I also loved Enid Blyton’s Famous Five.

My ambition is to have a novel of my own published one day. I am really looking forward to the Manchester Children’s Book Festival, particularly the Family Fun Day which will include loads of exciting talks and workshops!

I will be posting using the initials JG!

****

You can follow the team on Twitter @MCBFestival or through #MCBF2015, by visiting the Manchester Children’s Book Festival Facebook group, or by coming back to the blog!

Leave a Reply

